top of page

Honesty is The Best Policy...(and Openness but that's not as catchy.)


Hi lovely Foggers and Fogglets,


Michele has passed the Blog baton on to me so here goes:). Firstly let's just say from the off I am no way a wordy genius as my dear friend and partner at Wot The Fog HQ. I can't remember the last time I put pen to paper creatively but guessing school quick subtraction.. 40 years ago-(ouch)


I have been thinking what my first contribution should be about and I thought I would take the two words our ladies use when giving feedback after listening to the podcast and they are Honest and Open. We get really lovely messages and the thread is always "Thank you for being honest and open."


To be honest (sorry :). I have surprised myself over the last couple of years putting myself out there with my weekly Friday Feels Instagram/FB video and monthly podcasts sharing stories, feelings, experiences. I still cringe at the Episode 7 when I told the microphone after too much alcohol, a pelvic floor not what it was and the slowest lift in the entire world,

I wet myself. Funny now, mortified then, but more to the story if you fancy a listen. It was an over sharing funny episode, one email we had from a lady said she was on the train laughing her head off listening to that particular episode.


Episode 20 got me at very vulnerable moment and to put you in the picture, when Michele and I get together to do a podcast we just go with the flow. We might have a couple of things in our heads we need/want to say but it really is diving in and see what we come up with. When we started talking that morning I didn't expect to talk about how I was feeling, i.e. not good, not myself, exhausted all the time, four hours sleep a night, winter the

the dark, pressures of work, menopause, burst pipe, the oldies, I found myself googling 'Signs of Depression'.......... I had ticked them all..


SYMPTOMS


1. Feeling of sadness, tearfulness, emptiness, or hoplessness

2. Angry outbursts,irritability or frustration even over small matters

3. Loss of interest or pleasures in most/normal activities

4. Sleep disturbances including insomnia

5. Tiredness lack of energy


I must have had a light bulb moment because I need to do something about it, so I got on the phone, rang the doctor didn't expect to get an appointment but I did

and after speaking to the receptionist I said "I'm struggling and I think I'm depressed." Then I teared up and said "That's the first time I have said that out loud." She said she understood and felt the same when she said it and she reasurred me, saying "You are doing the right thing." In a nutshell a talk with a doctor, some medication, a bit of time from work, and I started felt better more energy, more sleep. Rest and relaxation are the best combo, I could R & R quite happily forever but that won't be happening anytime soon, but I feel better knowing I listened to myself and did something about it because if we don't look after ourselves and our minds nothing will work.


So going back to being honest and open this is the way forward for me, I am much more aware of my mind and it needs TLC just like any other part of the body, we soak

our aching joints after we exercise, we shut our eyes when they are tired, but our brain doesn't switch off but I know now what to do when I feel I am overloading

I do me things something that makes me feel good/better/calmer I know what what I need now to make me tick. TICK.


If you are reading this and feel the same I am sending you a hug remember you have to look after yourself to be able to look after others.


Finally, I love books, I read every night without fail. My latest purchase is The World According to Coco. I have it on my bedside table. It's small and beautiful, the book version of Coco herself. Ending my first blog with a little of Coco herself, all dressed elegantly in Black & White. I will leave you a bit of her wit and wisdom.


"I know how to work. I know how to discipline myself. But if I don't want to do something nothing andnobody can make do it".


Wise words indeed.


Let's live life a bit Coco.


LouLou x

Stay Sane, Don't Lose It!


P.S. Did you know we offer personal and workplace coaching here at Wot the Fog? If you need some support and guidance through this crazy midlife phase or you would like more awareness and policies in place where you work, we can help. Email us at chat@wotthefog.com OTHER PLACES WE CAN CONNECT Listen to the Podcast Join our Private Community Facebook Group Support Us by Buying Us a Virtual Coffee

Buy Me A Coffee is a way of making a small contribution to keeping our Podcast going. It's only £2, less than the price of a coffee but as everything we do is self funded, every little helps.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page